The Journey as I see IT

I was actually contemplating a lot on it for the longest time now in various respects. It can mean anything depending on where or when we want the term to be used. Like how a simple tool such as a screwdriver can be used to screw and unscrew well … screws and how it can be used for some other things. The word Journey is no different. It can be used to describe as simple as our way from home to work and vice versa, a 12 hour travel out of town, or maybe a “travel” in time with a certain goal in mind but has no definite destination. While it is quite broad as to where such term can be used, I think I may be ditchin out the rest, call them “TRIP” instead and focus on the latter as it has quite a more subliminal form of definition on how the word “journey” should be interpreted … at least for me.

It was around about 2 years ago when I started to have one … one hell of a ride into the world of photography. The first few months are quite a blur to me that I didn’t even care how far shall I go with it. And it was just the last few months of my second year that a certain Raul Echivarre made me realize about it being more of a journey rather than a destination (thanks pare). I ain’t there yet. Never will I. Otherwise it wouldn’t be a journey after all.

So what’s the ranting all about?

Believe it or not, the above photo was entitled “The Journey”. Most of you may have already seen this in my gallery or in my blog. Coincidence? Yes. I was not even contemplating on it when I gave this photo such a title.

And I never thought as well that this photo would lead into a much deeper appreciation of what that journey is all about. Until one day when I finally received a note from DPP (Digital Photographer Philippines) informing me that this same photo was selected as a finalist (for landscape category) and will be featured at the live judging session that will be held on the night of DPP’s 3rd year anniversary party.

Being selected among over 300 entries from DPP members is more than nerve wrecking. What more on the fact that it will be criticized and ripped off by a set of 5 reputable judges … live and in public!!! Like performing a song number to the best of your ability in that famous American show only to be smacked down by Paula Abdul and Simon Cowell in the end. The only difference is that you have the option to hide from the crowd and leave your shot in front. 🙂

It was such a turning point having my shot lined up along with 11 great photos from great photographers that it made me recount my thoughts on what this journey was all about.

Already the destination? Not yet. Not even close. Rather more like a first bus stop of sorts where you get to have some comfort before heading off to a much farther voyage. Again, I ain’t there yet and I have yet to get there. Placing 4th ain’t bad at all.

Did I mention I’ve been listening to The Journey lately? Who doesn’t want Arnel Pineda for the band anyway? What he had been through though is indeed a Journey in itself. 😉

Thanks to Nick Tuason, Pilar Tuason, Lloyd San Diego, Jay Jallorina, Raymund Isaac, Wesley Villarica, Jason Tablante and the rest of the DPP family for such an opportunity and a great event. More power.

Photos courtesy of Ate Sezy, Aly Reyes, Joel H. Garcia and Jerry Tieng.

~ by Ryan Sigua on June 30, 2009.

3 Responses to “The Journey as I see IT”

  1. idol ka talaga tso.

    i’m quite biased, yes, but i see more depth in your foto than the others. pa cheeseburger ka naman diyan! burger! burger!

  2. WOW nice photo MASTER SIGS!!! i want to lean more master can i be your apprentice? 🙂

  3. iba ka talaga sigs! teeeheee… ang galeeeeng ^_^

Leave a comment